Licensed to Spill

Yes. I had my license impounded. Again.

The previous time it happened I was glad. The fine seemed a small price to pay for having a parchi that certified me to drive in exchange for my dubious, expired, international license. This time, I was not so thrilled.

There were five cops standing at the turning and one of them figured I was on the phone and waved at me to stop. I did. (I wish I hadn’t seen him, then I could have driven safely away). But stop I did and the man turned up and started the usual cop conversation under such circs. (all the cop bits translated from Marathi / hindi and all of my bits translated from the hindi)

Cop: You have to pay a fine.

Me: Okay. How much?

Cop: You can’t pay it here because the saab with the bill book is not here.

Me: Okay. But where do I pay it

Cop: You have to go to the chowky. Actually you have to go to court.

Me: Okay.

Copy: I can’t gaurantee anything. In court it depends on the judge. He may suspend your license, decide on any sentence.

Me: Okay.

In the meanwhile a fatter cop walks up. (I am wondering if cop hierarchy is determined by level of gut hanging over the belt).

Fatter Cop: What happened?

Cop: Mobile phone offence. Writing chit.

Fatter Cop: Tch tch. don’t send for court. Ladies log. What will she do there. (turning to me) Madam you go to Ghatkopar chowkie under the bridge.

he then turns around and walks off.  In short order the ‘parchi’ is in my hand, my license in his pocket and I’m on the road again.

Later, I read it in peace, start googling and discover the following.

http://trafficpolicemumbai.org/ is quite decent. Among other things, states the rather insane rule on mobile phone usage: ‘Phone must be swtched off when driver is at the wheel’  and confirms that no one less than a Sub-Inspector can accept a fine amount and issue a receipt for it. Also gives a list of the chowkies with no address or location information!

It is not upto the cop to decide whether you have to go to court. The rule says if you go within three working days to the chowky and pay the fine they have to give it to you. After three days you gotta go to court.

Also in the public interest… if you get stuck on the Eastern Express Highway betweeen Mulund and Kurla, the chowky you need to head towards is right under the flyover on the highway. Its opposite the turn-off to the Ghatkopar Bus Depot.

2 responses to “Licensed to Spill

  1. Sometimes what they write as the “crime” on that scribbled thing has nothing to do with the actual “crime”.

    I was once told about this court stuff by a cop who accused me of wrong parking at Dadar station. They threatened with this court thing, and even said that a cop will visit the house to collect the fine. While I was quite happy having cops visiting so as to save me a trip, (as I didnt have the requisite amount of fine with me), it turned out that the so called “crime” mentioned on the paper was “not carrying a driving license”.

    This was clarified when I went to the nearest police chowky within 3 days as specified.

    So check the handwriting . And best of luck 🙂

  2. what kind of person are you? also what kind of cop takes you license…you are the only person I know who had to do all that…

Leave a Reply

