Sweating the Small Stuff

Sometime in the past 4 weeks, somewhere between three cities, I seem to have misplaced my driving license. Sigh. Under other circs this would not be so bad. However have just acquired car, it is EXTREMELY inconvenient to not be able to drive. Most errands right now involve getting vehicle from point a to b to c.   I’m ready to brain everyone (self included) for having to wait and plan my life around ‘who-has-a-valid-license-and-is-free’ 

There is nothing more irritating than dependence.

Consolation is in Divisadero. Storyline so far is pretty close to an M&B – young love comes to an end when father of girl discovers couple together, beats boy almost to death, takes screaming girl away from her one true love.  Girl grown up translating things in France. Boy practicing card sharp. So far so nice and if it were M&B they would find their way back to each other and happy endings would happen.

But this is Ondaatje. While every page reads like rough, uncut verse sending shivers through my brain, a happy ending is unlikely. Fat Consolation this is going to be.

3 responses to “Sweating the Small Stuff

  1. While I am still trying to figure out Divisadero and Ondaatje , just wanted to tell you, that a day in Wadala , applying for a replacement drivers licence, will beqeath you with a paper, based on which, you may drive, till the actual thing is granted back to you, say, a week later. I did all this , this summer, and the experience was so thrilling I even did a blog 🙂

  2. While I am still trying to figure out Divisadero and Ondaatje , just wanted to tell you, that a day in Wadala , applying for a replacement drivers licence, will beqeath you with a paper, based on which, you may drive, till the actual thing is granted back to you, say, a week later. I did all this , this summer, and the experience was so thrilling I even did a blog 🙂

  3. Congratulations!!!

    You without a car sounded just so out of place.

    I just had to send you the Ganesha to prove my (onetime) maharastrian – ism. If you find him too huge, not my fault, in the land of Hoysala it’s difficult to get anything that is tiny and cute.

    Abt the Feng-shui, the moment I heard what it meant, I just had to get it for you.

    Njoy watching “Dinky” or driving her in the godrej compound…..or if you getting irritated with that why don’t you take her snaps and do a full fledged blog on her, i am sure Hundai will consider giving you a commission on their incremental sales

Leave a Reply

