My Fondest Wish May Yet be Granted

An appropriate post from the prison with high firewalls – don’t you think? 

Please Fire Me

Here comes another alpha male, 
and all the other alphas 
are snorting and pawing, 
kicking up puffs of acrid dust   

while the silly little hens 
clatter back and forth 
on quivering claws and raise 
a titter about the fuss.   

Here comes another alpha male-- 
a man's man, a dealmaker, 
holds tanks of liquor, 
charms them pantsless at lunch:   

I've never been sicker. 
Do I have to stare into his eyes 
and sympathize? If I want my job 
I do. Well I think I'm through   

with the working world, 
through with warming eggs 
and being Zenlike in my detachment 
from all things Ego.   

I'd like to go 
somewhere else entirely, 
and I don't mean 
Europe. 
	-- Deborah Garrison

Leave a Reply

